Does anybody actually READ Max Lucado? …

Does anybody actually READ Max Lucado? You know the soft, eloquent interpreter of biblical ideals? My in laws gave me “God’s Promises For You” from Lucado for my BDay, not my typical reading, but I’m trying it out. It’s basically a series of Bible verses (I guess you can’t go wrong with that) about a certain topic and then a selection from one of his 1,000 books about that topic. Today’s was contentment. I read that at 5 AM today and probably should have tried to internalize it a little more, since the end of today definitely took a turn in the very direction of discontent.

So in very Lucado-an terminology, he says, “Because there is nothing on earth that can satisfy our deepest longing, we long to see God. The leaves of life are rustling with the rumor that we will – and we won’t be satisfied until we do.”

I can take that. He’s right. Not necessarily my style of writing, but there’s truth to that.

Leave a Reply

