“I will not hang out with negative people.” Say that. Do it.

I like the “tweet” I saw from Mancow Muller this morning:

“I will not hang out with negative people.” Say that. Do it. Crows will bring an eagle down.

Erich “Mancow” Muller refers to himself as a “sneaky preacher.”  That is, his audience is not largely the “Christian type.” His syndicated show airs mostly on rock or talk radio stations that have websites that look something like this 🙂

zone

But yet, he is full of good messages, like the one I just shared above, many of them overtly biblical , and I appreciate that. Bob Briner would’ve call him a Roaring Lamb.

Anyway, how true that is.  This is not a message of thinking of yourself as better than other people and refusing to hang around them, it’s that constantly true message of “Garbage in, Garbage out.”

I was sharing my views with someone the other day about how we all need to change our methods if we’re trying to avoid a certain behavior or achieve a certain goal.  I used the example that if you’re an alcoholic trying to kick the drink, it’s probably best not to work as a bartender or live have roommates who don’t understand what you’re trying to accomplish.  It’s the same way with your “crowd.”  Hanging out with negative people will make you negative. And thankfully, the converse is true as well.

I like this sneaky preaching that the guy is doing. Several months ago, he told me and a few friends that he is unapologetic about his faith even though he doesn’t base his whole program on God or on any form of what many would call “Christian programming.” But much more like what mass audiences listen to.  “I speak the language of the people,” he said, “…and I think we all need to realize that the message of Jesus is real.  I think the message of Jesus is hip!”

I actually agree. Christ followers should remember that this message that we are taking to the world in our own respective ways really is an important, pressing message and hanging out with negative people isn’t going to help the process.

From Matthew 7:

Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. By their fruit you will recognize them. Do people pick grapes from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? Likewise every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus, by their fruit you will recognize them.  Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only he who does the will of my Father who is in heaven.

One response to ““I will not hang out with negative people.” Say that. Do it.

  1. That’s really interesting. I’ve never really listened to Mancow since way back because he was a bit too “high energy” for me. Glad the content is there, though!

Leave a Reply

