Overcoming

So if you would have told me six months ago that I would be living day-to-day without caffeine and my iPhone I probably would have giggled like a junior high girl. But it’s happened.  It’s just a few days short of a month without any caffeine and going on a few weeks without the crazy iPhone (addiction) anymore.

People keep asking me why I’d give up either.  Neither was about Lent.

My answer would be:

Caffeine: Gave this up because of the extreme fatigue that was associated with my extreme use of it.  Yep, I drank a LOT of coffee

iPhone: Because of my growing disdain of people that can’t look you in the eye for more than 3 seconds without checking their phone for some stupid reason.  I don’t think I was quite like that, but the fear of even being someone close to that freaked me out.  I was using the phone to fill any “down” time in the day.  That was really stupid.

But…there are other things in life I’m noticing the need to give up – like I was telling a coworker this morning: fast food, or just eating too much too often in general.  But I’m now taking confidence by saying, “If I can give up caffeine and looking at my phone every 38 seconds, I should be able to give up just about anything.”

I’d love to hear about anything that you’ve given up, and how it went. Not just for Lent (although that’s cool).  Things that you no longer wanted to be a part of your life and so you just gave them up.  How did you do it?  How did it go?  How’s life now?

4 responses to “Overcoming

  1. I am very impressed with both of your achievements, I drink way more coffee than I should & my Blackberry is never out of reach.
    The thing that I am most proud of quitting is smoking. I started when I was 16 & smoked A LOT for 16 years. I quite during prenancy but started again a short time after my daughter was born. She is the main inspiration for my quitting; we were on our porch and I was smoking and she started pretending to also. She said;” look Mommy; I’m just like you”. That was all it took. It’s not something I’d ever want her to get hooked on. Way too hard to quit. It is an addiction just like any other & will always be a temptation I fear.
    Congrats on your success!

  2. Joshua Carman

    Johnny,

    I gave up soda pop (Yeah, I know. Some call it soda. Others call it pop. I call it both) during this lent season. It’s been very hard. Especially coming home from a long day. I always looked foward to opening that cold Pepsi or Mt. Dew and chugging it down in 5 minutes. I will go back to drinking it, and hopefully not as much as I did.

    And I hope that will I grow closer to my Heavenly Father during this time, as well as become healthier.

  3. I’m a slacker. I didn’t give up anything. Should I? Probably. My thoughts are that I can’t give something up just because you did and it worked for you. #1 I have to WANT to give it up #2 It has to be for a good reason, or a divine purpose. Ha! While writing this, I did think of one thing I’ve given up…comparing myself with others. A few months ago I would have mentally beat myself up for not being like you.

  4. May I must say…I am laughing as I read what I wrote over three years ago. Back then, I was just noticing our smartphone-swarmed culture and was rebelling against it. Today, it’s just fatigue and I don’t want to talk about it.

Leave a Reply

