Are you ever a different person?

Sometimes I definitely do turn in to a different person.  And I really hate that because for a long time it’s been kind of my thing that I’ve been trying to be the same person all the time.

I looked up the word “integrity” in the etymology (word history) dictionary and here’s what is said:

c.1450, “wholeness, perfect condition,” from O.Fr. integrité, from L. integritatem (nom. integritas) “soundness, wholeness,” from integer “whole” (see integer). Sense of “uncorrupted virtue” is from 1548.

So the word “integrity” comes from the same word as “integer.”

Do we remember what that word is from math class, kids?  Yep, that means a whole number.  It can be negative or positive, but it’s a whole number. I think too many times in the Christian bubble we can think that integrity just related to being honest or true (or uncorrupted virtue, as you can see that meaning came 100 years later), but there’s a lot more to it than that.

So when I think “integrity” I have to think:

  • Wholeness
  • Dependability/reliability/predictability
  • Oneness with self, God, spouse

And I hate when I don’t operate with this wholeness.  Sometimes, I just turn into another person entirely. Does that ever happen to you?  It happened to me again tonight.  Most common time for me to become another person = after 9:00 p.m.  I don’t know what it is, but sometimes that time comes and if it’s been a long day, I’ll just kind of shut down and things that I normally enjoy just become kind of blah. Unfortunately that happened toward the end of our small group meeting (sorry guys for my lack of participation there at the end)…but again, I’m just saying, I hate that it gets like that sometimes.

Kenneth Boa said, “Biblical integrity is not just doing the right thing; it’s a matter of having the right heart and allowing the person you are on the inside to match the person you are on the outside. This is how God is. This is how his people should be.”

Yeah.  That sounds good.

One response to “Are you ever a different person?

  1. If I were you, I’d just plan on always going to bed before 9:00. Problem solved 😉
    I’m joking…I do get what you’re saying.

Leave a Reply

