Mislead by the pastor

Well, I quit caffeine quite a while back and it has been the BEST THING.  No more dragging mornings and no big crashes in the afternoon.  It really is a big deal for me.  I’ve slowly come back to drinks some soft drinks with caffeine, but NO MORE caffeinated coffee.

I remember talking with a girl who quit caffeine and never went back and she said, “Once in a while I’ll forget to say decaf at Starbucks and then I’ll bounce off the walls for a couple of days.” That statement is key in this story…

So I was having a conversation with a certain pastor of a certain church that will remain nameless (at 183rd & Wolf in Orland Park, ahem) about how we’ve both quit caffeine when I spotted a CASE of what looked like 5 hr. energy on his desk.  I called him on it and he said, “Oh, there’s no caffeine in that.”

He then picked up the bottle to read the ingredients to me to prove it, but then said something like, “Ahhh…I can’t read that fine print.  Just try a bottle.” So I did.  I rarely winked that night.

Upon inspection of the ingredients utilizing my eyeglasses and very effective squinting, I read the word caffeine as the second-to-last ingredient.

So…I can’t blame the guy.  The label reads “No jitters, no crash, fat burning blend, mental clarity, and mood.” All of that was pretty much true…and the stuff did work…maybe a little too well. 🙂

5 responses to “Mislead by the pastor

  1. Yeah, from what I’ve heard, Speed doesn’t have caffeine in it either, but I’m still skipping that one too. 😉

  2. I would hardly call this a health drink. And yet it is advertised as such.

    You should compare Yafari and <a href="http://www.5hourenergy.com/healthfacts.asp"5-Hour Energy and tell me what you think. If all you are looking at is caffeine, 5-hour energy seems to have it second to last in the ingredient list as well.

  3. (whoops) …

    You should compare Yafari and 5-Hour Energy and tell me what you think. If all you are looking at is caffeine, 5-hour energy seems to have it second to last in the ingredient list as well.

  4. I’ll stick with my coffee, thanks 😉

  5. Oh my goodness…that is too funny!!! I knew PT had to be on something, he has some CrAzY fun energy! 🙂 we just drank that 5 hour energy stuff last night to drive all night to SC for a wedding. IT WORKS!! John didn’t fall asleep driving. LOL

Leave a Reply

