So…about difficulties at work

Let’s be honest, we’ve all been through some serious lows at work.

I have a lot of friends who are struggling at work right now.  To someone who DOESN’T HAVE a job, it might be tempting to say, “Hey, shut up.  You have a job and you should be thankful.”  And actually, they’re probably right.

But, that doesn’t really encourage us when we are going through trying times at work, now does it?  There are two main things that I’ve really had to choose to believe in regards to work that help when things get frustrating, as they will…

1. People really are not the problem. Even your boss.  I think the problem is feeling like you don’t have a purpose in my work. Bosses can contribute to that, though.  It’s so cliche to say, “I’m working for God, not my boss,” but somehow that has to be our perspective.  I have heard it said, “The most important person in your life is the one right in front of you,” and I try to live that, even with people I don’t like.

2. I have found anxiousness to really be the cause of the problem with work. We get anxious, worried about approval from bosses and coworkers, about how much we have to do and little time to do it, meeting  goals satisfactorily, and just plain not liking our jobs sometimes.  I have found that it is absolutely vital to surrender that fear/anxiety/worry and CHOOSE not to live with anxiety. That is hard. But my belief in God has to trump my tendency to have our negative feelings.

You really have to take this stuff day by day.  Most of us are going to be working the rest of our lives and we really need to get this anxiety thing under control.

And by the way, contrary to what the graphic says, my job does not suck.  Sure, there have been times that it has seemed like it, hence the source of some of the above-stated feelings, but I (we all) really need to count our blessings.  Take a deep breath and a step back and realize how good we really have it.  For more on that idea, I highly recommend giving the Purpose Driven Life a fresh read.  Our church is going through it right now and even though I’ve read it before, it’s giving new meaning to life.

Leave a Reply

