One of my favorite prayers

I was just sharing this prayer with my wife.  It’s one I keep in my iPhone as I feel the words are so meaningful.  And, as confession is such a necessary part of each Christian’s life, especially my own…it’s handy to have around.

Gracious God, our sins are too heavy to carry, too real to hide, and
too deep to undo. Forgive what our lips tremble to name, what our
hearts can no longer bear, and what has become for us a consuming fire of judgment. Set us free from a past that we cannot change; open to us a future in which we can be changed; and grant us grace to grow more and more in your likeness and image, through Jesus Christ, the light of the world. Amen.

From the PCUSA Book of Common Worship
Louisville: Westminster John Knox, 1993; p. 88

Leave a Reply

