Reading about this today, thought I’d share.

Hi friends.  Ever read these words of Jesus?

 

“If the world hates you, keep in mind that it hated me first. If you belonged to the world, it would love you as its own. As it is, you do not belong to the world, but I have chosen you out of the world. That is why the world hates you. Remember what I told you: ‘A servant is not greater than his master.’ If they persecuted me, they will persecute you also. If they obeyed my teaching, they will obey yours also. – John 15:18-20

Yea, and ((((all))))) that will live godly in Christ Jesus shall suffer persecution. – 2 Tim 3:12
I just sort of randomly visited the website persecution.org this morning as I was drinking my first cup of decaf (lame, I know) for the day and watched the first video on the page, called “Your Bridge to the Persecuted Church.”  If you care to do so as well, here it is…
I have seen this website around in various places, but never really stopped to look at it.  A couple years ago, I was listening to a sermon by Jim Nicodem, pastor of Christ Community Church in St. Charles, IL and he said that he goes on this website either every day or every Sunday before he preaches.  The site is dedicated to awareness of and helping Christians around the world being persecuted.
 The second time I heard about this website (and organization) was in reading the book “Radical,” by David Platt and it challenged me to become a Christian who cares about all nations.
Some questions that came to mind as I read this.  No need to make a comment (unless you want to), but just things to think about and maybe actually (gasp) apply to our lives and checkbooks.
– What emotions, ideas, thoughts come to mind to us as we read these verses and watch this video?
– Go to this site and see the 6 major areas where this organization provides assistance.  Do any of these areas stick out…?  Would you be more passionate about helping one area than another?
– Do ((((we)))) really suffer any kind of persecution at all?
2 responses to “Reading about this today, thought I’d share.

  1. Chapter eleven in Hebrews talks about the people with great faith. “Some faced jeers and flogging, while still others were chained and put in prison. They were stoned, they were sawed in two, they were put to death by the sword. They went about in sheepskins and goatskins, destitute, persecuted, and mistreated” (Heb. 11:36-37). Last week in World Magazine there was an article about atrocities in Southern Sudan where hundreds were found murdered. The article says they were “mangled, mutilated, and cut in half.” Do read the Bible of what happened to the early Christians and now see and hear it continue today in the 21st century is truly sad. May we all turn “radical” as David Platt implores us to the injustices happening to our Christian brothers and sisters around the world.

  2. This day, one year ago. This blog post and story is as relevent today as it was a year ago. Wow. I missed it then, but somehow found my way to your blog today. Watching that video stirred something in me. I’m just one person, but wondering how I could help…I mean – we (many of us) are pretty much blind to the fact that this sort of thing even happens. Thanking God for continuing to open my eyes – to see the world around me, and the compassion to want to make a difference.

Leave a Reply

