Heaven and eternity, and stuff

My wife and I were talking today about the concept of eternity and heaven, and how it’s kind of…well…scary sometimes.

Here’s what I was thinking…it is kind of scary…and I think the main reason is that we don’t actually know what to expect.  And while we’ll never truly know what to expect as eternity rolls on, I think it’s a pretty good idea for us pay attention to this.  Here’s why.

I think there’s a real danger that we could ignore ideas about eternity and heaven simply because it scares us a bit.
 In this ignorance, we might be tempted to focus too much on our earthly surroundings, which then causes us to be deceived or preoccupied in regards to what life is really about.  Does this make sense?
I just finished listening to a very relevant and encouraging, thought-provoking, clarifying message series on this issue from Cross Point Church in Nashville.  It’s all about Heaven and what the Bible actually says about it.  It helped clarify some thoughts on what Heaven is and more importantly, what it ISN’T.  (That’s what the series did for me).
Definitely worth the time invested.  After all, we’ve got a lot of time in the big scope, right?

Leave a comment